Death is Too Good for These Scammers
This scam is really basic. They use the fear of not performing well in search engines to dupe you into thinking that you are already enrolled with this “service” and that failing to renew will hurt your online presence. The fraud works on two levels:
1. Trick you into renewing a service you don’t actually have.
2. Use your ignorance of how search engines work to sell a completely useless service as an outrageous price.
What’s most interesting about this email is that the domain in question isn’t even hosted. There is no website there and I don’t ever plan to put one up. They simply scraped my email off the whois registry and sent it out like they did to about 10 million other random people.
Bottom line – no one needs to submit their website to any search engine. No only is it pointless but they find your site all by themselves with ease. Heck, they even find the content you DON’T want them to find.
Here’s the text from the original email:
Subject: Domain Notification: CLAY BUTLER This is your Final Notice of Domain Listing – MATCHRIGHT.ORG
From: doservi7873@hotmail.com
Attn: CLAY BUTLER
As a courtesy to domain name holders, we are sending you this notification for your business Domain name search engine registration. This letter is to inform you that it’s time to send in your registration and save.
Failure to complete your Domain name search engine registration by the expiration date may result in cancellation of this offer making it difficult for your customers to locate you on the web.
Privatization allows the consumer a choice when registering. Search engine subscription includes domain name search engine submission. You are under no obligation to pay the amounts stated below unless you accept this offer. Do not discard, this notice is not an invoice it is a courtesy reminder to register your domain name search engine listing so your customers can locate you on the web.
This Notice for: WWW.MATCHRIGHT.ORG will expire on March 25,2010 Act today!
Detail of Service:
SEARCH SUBMISSIONS
Reply by Date:
03/25/2010
For Domain Name:
MATCHRIGHT.ORG
*100% SATISFACTION IS GUARANTEED OR YOUR MONEY BACK
Select Term Your Existing Domain Period Covered Price
MATCHRIGHT.ORG
[ ] 1 year 03/25/2010 – 03/25/2011 $75.00
[ ] 2 year 03/25/2010 – 03/25/2012 $119.00
[ ] 5 year 03/25/2010 – 03/25/2015 $199.00
[ ] 10 year -Most Recommended- 03/25/2010 – 03/25/2020 $295.00
[ ] Lifetime (NEW!) Limited time offer – Best value! Lifetime $999.00
Please ensure that your contact information is correct or make the necessary changes.
Full Name: CLAY BUTLER Email: CLAY@CLAYBUTLER.COM
Email 2: ____________________
Phone: _____________________
Want to receive this notification for other domains you own? simply list them below:
_____________________ _____________________
_____________________ _____________________
Today’s Date: _____________________ Signature: _____________________
Option 1:
Payment by Credit Card (Recommended – Quickest way)
PLEASE COMPLETE AND RETURN BY FAX: 1-646-385-7542
(Please do not include your credit card details on this form, we will send you instructions on how to make a payment after we receive your fax)
Option 2:
Payment by Check or Money Order
Print and mail a copy of this order form along with a check or money order to the address listed below:
Domain Services
47-47 36th Street #16452
Long Island City, NY 11101
United States of America
Please do not forget to include a copy of this order form along with your payment!
MATCHRIGHT.ORG
Here’s a screenshot of what the original email looked like:

File Under: Domain Name Scams – Search Engine Submission Scams
sas
1 year ago
I just received a similar email. What’s weird though is that they’ve actually listed a domain name that I used to own. Seriously, some people will try everything. Thankfully, I know how things work a bit so it was pretty obvious from the start that it was a scam. But I really feel for those who think they can pay $999 for a lifetime subscription of their domain name.
Fix Your iTunes
1 year ago
I just received an email from these folks. It seems I have to renew one of my domains and the cool part of the deal (well at least they think it’s the coolest part) is that I can renew my domain for the lifetime rate of 999.00. Can you believe this crap. How can these folks get away with things like this? And how could folks fall in to this crap?
Can we turn folks in that do this? Is this legit? Who do we need to forward this to? I replied back to the email that was sent and the email bounced and was undeliverable!
Chris Giatras
1 year ago
I bought this domain several years ago and I don’t know if I still have the rights. I haven’t developed the site yet and the the email that I received, same one as the others have received almost got me. The fact that the wasn’t any contact or identifying info in it may a funny smell. I am glad I checked on the address http://domregistrat.com and found the scam info. Thanks for the heads up.
Christopher D. Giatras, MSW, ACSW
Director of Social Services
john Threadgold
10 months ago
I got one of these E-Mails as well. Something just did not feel right about it, but the idea ( or threat ! ) that customers would not be able to find my web site was obviously the hook. Also I went through to the payment section, out of curiosity, not because I was going to pay, and I noticed that the Iglodal Merchant Services are processing payments for this scam.
Two Questions. Is this scam unlawful ? The wording is very careful, including the idea that you do not have to pay, however to suggest that customers will not find your web site is at the very least misleading advertising. Also does Iglobal have a duty of care the screen scam artists like this one ? I think they should be more pro-active with stuff like this.
John Threadgold
JB Ray
6 months ago
I got one of these as well. I had just renewed the domain and I knew that it was not going to expire in 2 days as the email stated. I went to godaddy, where I have my domains registered and hosted and sure enough, it doesn’t expire until 2012. I then re-read the email and discovered that they are trying to sell “registration” to search engines!! What nonsense. We are a charitable organization that donates money that we generate to veterans and children, and these scumbags are trying to steal money from those in need Off with their heads I say!!
Peter Lehmann
6 months ago
Those scammers are not only target the USA, my domain is .de and .com and the business is a German registered biz and so is our website. But, hey they gave us a “break”: They want to solicit only Euro 499.00. What a “bargain”! Can´t the consumer protection agency put those suckers out of their misserable business?
Gypsum Fantastic
20 hours ago
I received 2 emails from these scumbags today. Indeed they must target domains specifically because the 2 emails are for the hyphen and non-hyphen version of the same domain (I own both).