You only get these if you have a domain. It’s really simple. There is no Peter Lee. Nobody is interested in registering the Chinese version of your domain. It’s all a ruse. They just want to scare you into overpaying for a useless .cn version of your domain.
Here’s a sample email:
Dear Sir or Madam 2009-11-17
We are a domain name registration service company in Asia,
Resently we received a formal application submited by Peter Lee who wanted to use the keyword “CLAYTOWNE” to register the Internet Brand and with suffix such as .cn /.com.cn /.net.cn/.hk/ .asia/ domain names.
After our initial examination, we found that these domain names to be applied for registration are same as your domain name and trademark. If you think that these domain names to be regisrated would produce possible dispute with you or effect your current business, you would contact us as soon as possible by Fax ,Telephone or Email to protect and register related domains names , otherwise we have to approve his regisration application without your any reply in the next 5 working days.
Yours sincerely
Tina
Checking Department
Tel: 86 513 8532 1087
Fax: 86 513 8532 2065
Email:Tina@jsntwifi.com.cn
Website: www.jsntwifi.com.cn
Our File No.:2744229
Michael Lerner
1 year ago
This scam has been going on for years and still continues. I’ve written about this issue on my blog at http://learnthenet.org/2010/05/10/the-domain-game/ and many others have shared similar experiences and emails they’ve received that mirror the ones posted. Amazingly, I’m still receiving emails from these shell companies. Haven’t they ever heard of a search engine?