Oh, will they ever stop. It’s like a game of Whack-a-Mole with these scam outfits. Knock one down and another pops up. In case you don’t know how it works, there is no one trying to register the Chinese suffix of my domain. It’s a scare tactic to get me to buy some useless, overpriced domains.
Below is the original email:
Subject: Notice Protect–The Confirmation Of Intellectual Property in China
Dear President&CEO,
We are a Network Service Company which is the domain name registration center in Shanghai, China.
On 31th, August, 2010, we received an application from MEIHUA Group requested”claytowne”
as their internet keyword and China (CN) domain names. But after checking ,we find this name is conflict with
your company’s name or trademark. In order to deal with this issue better, it’s necessary to send this email to you
and confirm with your company whether this company is your distributor or business partner in China?
Looking forward to your reply
Kind regards
Jacky Jacky Zhou
Checking Department
——————————————————–
Shanghai Office (Head Office)
3002, Nanhai Building ,854.Nandan Road
Xuhui District, Shanghai 200070
Tel:+86 21 61918696
Fax:+86 21 61918697
——————————————————-
Email : jacky@cnnetwork.org
Web: http://www.Cnnetwork.org
www.CNNetwork.org – Yet Another Chinese Domain Registration Scam …
1 year ago
[...] original here: http://www.CNNetwork.org – Yet Another Chinese Domain Registration Scam … and-another, case-you, ever-stop-, know-how, one-down, pops, pops-up-, scam-outfits-, whack-a, [...]
Robin Anne
3 months ago
I’m glad I decided to “Google” this one…. I’ve been going back and fourth with “John” several times over the past week.
Thanks for the heads up!!
P. Joy Webster
1 year ago
Thank you. I just got a copy of this same e-mail and almost fell for it. I appreciate you taking the time to blog about it.
Niyi
1 year ago
Thanks for this info, I got this email in my spam and almost believed it until I googled the domain name and found this blog.
Battery Guy
8 months ago
Ditto that!
Just got the same e-mail.
Thanks for keeping us informed.
Dave
7 months ago
wow i just got the same email and decided to google the so called office address and then i found this great info. i would have fell for this if i didn’t read the post from you guys bcos i take my domain name very seriously. thanx much.
matthew
7 months ago
Yeah, me too, thanks to blogs i took it no further, well………apart from sending it to my junk mail that is
Well done, lets all stick together in this corrupt world
John
5 months ago
yes I realize this is old news, but you have to give these scammers some credit. At least they managed to get the English right for the most part.
Nijish
5 months ago
thanks for the info.
heres what i got… placing it here as is for viewers:
Dear Manager,
(If you are not the person who is in charge of this, please forward this to your CEO,Thanks)
This email is from China domain name registration center, which mainly deal with the domain name registration and dispute internationally in China and Asia.
On August 29th 2011, We received Tianhua Ltd’s application that they are registering the name ” iamabiker ” as their Internet Keyword and ” iamabiker .cn “、” iamabiker .com.cn ” 、” iamabiker .asia “domain names etc.., It is China and ASIA domain names. But after auditing we found the brand name been used by your company. As the domain name registrar in China, it is our duty to notice you, so I am sending you this Email to check. According to the principle in China, your company is the owner of the trademark, In our auditing time we can keep the domain names safe for you firstly, but our audit period is limited, if you object the third party application these domain names and need to protect the brand in china and Asia by yourself, please let the responsible officer contact us as soon as possible. Thank you!
Best Regards,
John
General Manager
Shanghai Office (Head Office)
3002, Nanhai Building, No. 854 Nandan Road,
Xuhui District, Shanghai 200070, China
Tel: +86 216191 8696
Fax: +86 216191 8697
Web: http://www.ygnetwork.com.cn
The Naming Dude
5 months ago
Too funny. Tianhua Ltd is gunning for “i am a biker” dot com. Suuuure they are.
firdosh
4 months ago
thanks a lot people, i got the same,had a doubt and googled to see whats the company about, and landed up here.
thanks people. a small time business website will surely get jittery as lot of money goes in making one website and some i#iot wants to fool around with us.
Evan 'OldWorld Creative' Skuthorpe
4 months ago
I just got a copy of this email also. Love your URL by the way!
Joe
4 months ago
today i got a email from a some unknown Chinese company saying rubbish abt the domain i host.. check this out..
John
Dear Manager,
(If you are not the person who is in charge of this, please forward this to your CEO,Thanks)
This email is from China domain name registration center, which mainly deal with the domain name registration and dispute internationally in China and Asia.
On October 3rd 2011, We received Tianhua Ltd’s application that they are registering the name ” xdjpop ” as their Internet Keyword and ” xdjpop .cn “、” xdjpop .com.cn ” 、” xdjpop .asia “domain names etc.., they are China and ASIA domain names. But after auditing we found the brand name been used by your company. As the domain name registrar in China, it is our duty to notice you, so we are sending you this email to check. According to the principle in China, your company is the owner of the trademark, In our auditing time we can keep the domain names safe for you firstly, but our audit period is limited, if you object the third party application these domain names and need to protect the brand in china and Asia by yourself, please let the responsible officer contact us as soon as possible. Thank you!
Best Regards,
John
General Manager
Shanghai Office (Head Office)
3002, Nanhai Building, No. 854 Nandan Road,
Xuhui District, Shanghai 200070, China
Tel: +86 216191 8696
Fax: +86 216191 8697
Web: http://www.ygnetwork.com.cn
Andy
3 months ago
John now has a surname:
John Shi
General Manager
Shanghai Office (Head Office)
3002, Nanhai Building, No. 854 Nandan Road,
Xuhui District, Shanghai 200070, China
Tel: +86 216191 8696
Mobile: +86 136615 29704
Fax: +86 216191 8697
Web: http://www.ygnetwork-ltd.com
It got me for a few days, before I found your site. Thanks.
Thomas
3 months ago
want to bet you won’t find him at XuHui district?
Moral disaster all these scammers trying to make a quickbuck.
Maria
2 months ago
Got the same email for my other site, except he emailed both my domain email (blah@domain.com) and the site’s Yahoo email account (domain@yahoo.com). I’m glad its junk.. I got a bit nervous.. I don’t want to deal with anything like that!
jil
2 months ago
Received the same thing, was thinking it wasn’t a scam as he wasn’t asking for any money. Was sick with worry – thanks for alieviating my fears!
Jack
2 months ago
Hello friends,
1st thanks for all of these conversation. Today morning I got same line to line email from “John [john.xia@yg-network.com]“. At the moment I got this email I really scared that now what should I do. But when I found this blog I really be happy and realize what they need to do with. This is new techniques for earning money. Just leave this email and delete. I attached here my email copy….
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
(If you are not the person who is in charge of this, please forward this to your CEO,Thanks)
This email is from China domain name registration center, which mainly deal with the domain name registration and dispute internationally in China and Asia.
On November 14th 2011, We received Tianhua Ltd’s application that they are registering the name ” ******* ” as their Internet Keyword and ” ********* .cn “Asia” ******* .com.cn ” *****” ************ .asia “domain names etc.., they are China and ASIA domain names. But after auditing we found the brand name been used by your company. As the domain name registrar in China, it is our duty to notice you, so we are sending you this email to check. According to the principle in China, your company is the owner of the trademark, In our auditing time we can keep the domain names safe for you firstly, but our audit period is limited, if you object the third party application these domain names and need to protect the brand in china and Asia by yourself, please let the responsible officer contact us as soon as possible. Thank you!
Best Regards,
John
General Manager
Shanghai Office (Head Office)
3002, Nanhai Building, No. 854 Nandan Road,
Xuhui District, Shanghai 200070, China
Tel: +86 216191 8696
Mobile: +86 136615 29704
Fax: +86 216191 8697
Web: http://www.ygnetworkltd.com
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Carsten
2 months ago
Gee, I guess I have been bombarded enough with these kind of things by now that I immediately googled this just to find: YIP! once again another scam. I also got an email from John with the same stuff. I told them I could sell them my company for 10mil US$ if they really want the name…lol
Anyway, Thanks guys for the info.