Same domain registration scam but with a brand new name – DIKPR. Not sure if it’s pronounced Dick- PR or Dickpurrr. Anyway, Andy Hua is the scammer, uh, I mean,”Senior Consultant” that will be handing this most urgent matter.
Below is the original email:
(If you are NOT President,please forward this to your President, because this is urgent.Thanks.)
Dear President,
We are the department of registration service in China. we have something need to confirm with you. We formally received an application on June 16,2011, One company which self-styled “Nbtden Holding, Inc.” are applying to register “drinkcannacola” as brand name and domain names as below :
drinkcannacola.asia
drinkcannacola.cn
drinkcannacola.com.cn
drinkcannacola.com.hk
drinkcannacola.com.tw
drinkcannacola.hk
drinkcannacola.net.cn
drinkcannacola.org.cn
drinkcannacola.tw
After our initial examination, we found that the brand name applied for registration are as same as your company’s name and trademark. These days we are dealing with it, hope to get the affirmation from your company. If your company and this “Nbtden Holding, Inc.” as the same company,there is no need reply to us,We will accept their application and will register those for them immediately.
If your company has no relationships with that company nor do not authorized,please reply to us within 7 workdays,if we can’t get any information from yours over 7 workdays,we will unconditionally approve the application submitted by “Nbtden Holding, Inc.”.
Thanks for your cooperation.
Best Regards,
——————————–
Andy Hua
Senior Consultant
(: Tel : +86-21-67222201
ê: Fax: +86-21-67222202
www.dikpr.org

Marc
8 months ago
Thanks
Just got this email actually and decided to google it as it didnt sound right.
Marc
Éric NIAKISSA
8 months ago
Bonjour et merci
Un ami a reçu cet e-mail, après vérification je confirme qu’il s’agit bien d’une “arnaque aux noms de domaine”
En savoir plus : http://www.bestofmicro.com/entreprise/actualite/test/246-1-nom-domaine-arnaque.html
Dan
7 months ago
We get these on a weekly basis. Even worse are the people who register a domain that’s sort of related to your field and then they offer to sell it to you for $$$$ saying it’ll somehow help our SEO and get more clients. Yeah whatever. I feel bad for anyone that falls for this.
The Naming Dude
7 months ago
Yeah, the “as owner of abc.com we thought you’d be interest to know that a-b-c.com is going to expire and can be purchased” emails are hilarious. What’s particularly interesting about some of these is the company in question doesn’t actually own the domain and it can be registered at godaddy for $9.99 by anyone. What they do is have bots go out and harvest domain registrant info and keyword match that info to domains that are going to expire and then try to convince you that you need to buy it from them. It’s a pretty easy way to make fifty bucks for doing nothing. I got one of these emails notices one time and then just snatched it up on the open market for $9.99 when they were offering it for $59.99. Good domain too.
Andy Clint
6 months ago
Thanks for the news!!
Tanielle
6 months ago
Just got this email.. Thanks for warning us !
Dan
1 month ago
Thanks, I’ve been seeing a lot of these emails come in for our company recently. Seemed very suspicious when I saw them.