They just keep coming. Yet another Chinese domain name scam. As long as they keep scamming, I’ll keep outing them. This ones particularly funny because the domain in question is my fatherhood blog. Sure, everyone wants to register that useless domain name!
Below is the original email:
Dear Manager,
We are a Network Service Company which is the domain name registration center in Shanghai, China. On September,6th,2010, We received HUATAI Company’s application that they are registering the name “straightdopedad” as their Internet Trademark and “straightdopedad.cn”, “straightdopedad.com.cn” ,”straightdopedad.asia”domain names etc.,It is China and ASIA domain names.But after auditing we found the brand name been used by your company. As the domain name registrar in China, it is our duty to notice you, so I am sending you this Email to check.According to the principle in China,your company is the owner of the trademark,In our auditing time we can keep the domain names safe for you firstly, but our audit period is limited, if you object the third party application these domain names and need to protect the brand in china and Asia by yourself, please let the responsible officer contact us as soon as possible. Thank you!
Kind regards
Angela Zhang
Angela Zhang
Registration Department Manager
3002, Nanhai Building 854.Nandan Road
Xuhui District, Shanghai
Office: +86 216296 2950
Fax: +86 216296 1557
web: http://yg-networks.com
web: http://www.yg-networks.com
But wait there’s more! One year later and it’s another email with the same scam, same domain that is under threat, but from a company with a slightly different name. How rich!
Dear Manager,
(If you are not the person who is in charge of this, please forward this to your CEO,Thanks)
This email is from China domain name registration center, which mainly deal with the domain name registration and dispute internationally in China and Asia.
On August 29th 2011, We received Tianhua Ltd’s application that they are registering the name ” straightdopedad ” as their Internet Keyword and ” straightdopedad .cn “、” straightdopedad .com.cn ” 、” straightdopedad .asia “domain names etc.., It is China and ASIA domain names. But after auditing we found the brand name been used by your company. As the domain name registrar in China, it is our duty to notice you, so I am sending you this Email to check. According to the principle in China, your company is the owner of the trademark, In our auditing time we can keep the domain names safe for you firstly, but our audit period is limited, if you object the third party application these domain names and need to protect the brand in china and Asia by yourself, please let the responsible officer contact us as soon as possible. Thank you!
Best Regards,
John
General Manager
Shanghai Office (Head Office)
3002, Nanhai Building, No. 854 Nandan Road,
Xuhui District, Shanghai 200070, China
Tel: +86 216191 8696
Mobile: +86 136615 29704
Fax: +86 216191 8697
Web: www.ygnetworkltd.com
Lauren
1 month ago
Thank you so much for posting this. I’ve received two emails from them. So sad that people really do this kind of stuff. I also received a letter in the mail that looked like it was from the state of California but found online that it also was a scam. Thank goodness for people like you that post about these topics.
Dana
1 month ago
Thank You!! I just received the one from Angela Zhang this morning. Good to know it is a scam and we too appreciate your diligence in posting this.
John
1 month ago
Nice work! You come up #3 in Google for ygnetworkltd.com. Since I’m a junior high school boy in a 41 year old body, I replied to “John” thusly:
Please, by all means use our copyright. Have at it.
LOL.
It takes either a set of balls or a lot of confidence it the stupidity of Americans (or both) to try to fish for credit cards on the basis of a Chinese company that protects intellectual property. That is really funny. Seriously, could you buy a copy of our superior western entertainment in your town that was NOT pirated even if you wanted to?
Thanks for the laugh.
Rick
4 weeks ago
Just received my first email and this was the first site I came to. Thanks for the heads up!
Gemma
1 week ago
Thank you – I just got this exact same email this morning!